Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Roller coaster of a weekend

Press Release

(Vaughan, ON – July 21st, 2019)

Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Roller coaster of a weekend

Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Riders Shawn Maffenbeier, Phil Nicoletti, and Sam Gaynor all put in very impressive Motos in the blistering heat this weekend during Round 5 at San Del Lee. The Guys pushed through the extreme Ontario heat warnings and were able to once again make a statement in the Rockstar Energy Triple Crown MX Series. With the 3 Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Riders making appearances on the box throughout the day. Shawn would end up taking 4th overall. A broken radiator in Moto 1 combined with the #54’s overwhelming passion for the sport saw Phil Nicoletti disqualified after an incident regarding Moto 2. Sam Gaynor, once again, would put in two really strong Motos which resulted in a 12th overall position for Sam, while claiming his first 450 Pro Holeshot Award.

As qualifying for the 450 Pro’s started the temperatures at San Del Lee began to increase by the minute. However this was no issue for the Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Team. All 3 riders handled the heat with ease. Phil Nicoletti qualified in 7th position, Shawn Maffenbeier in 5th, and Sam Gaynor in 11th headed into Moto 1.

First Moto saw all 3 Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha riders within the top 10 after the gate dropped. Phil Nicoletti was making some swift moves and passes which led him into 2nd position early on in the Moto. Phil would end making a small bobble which resulted in a crash. Unfortunately Matt Georke, who was right behind phil had nowhere to go and ran into the #54’s bike. The incident resulted in Phil’s Radiator and rad hose being ripped off the bike. After no other option than pulling into the mechanics area, Nicoletti’s mechanic Risi George and Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha team manager Steve Simms quickly replaced the rad and hose to get Phil back on the track; hoping to grasp a point or two. Shawn was able to make his way into 2nd as Phil pulled in. Shawn would ride strong all Moto long and eventually finish in 3rd position. Congratulations Shawn on your first top 3 Moto finish! Sam Gaynor, feeling under the weather would ride a strong Moto finishing in 12th position.

As we approached Moto 2 at SDL the temperature continued to rise, with no breaks from the intense heat Sam Gaynor would have an extremely impressive start where he would lead the pack around the first few corners against some of the biggest names in the sport. It was incredible to see a young kid dethrone the king of holeshots, Mike Alessi and grab the Moto 2 Holeshot Award. Sam would go on to battle all Moto long where he would finish strong in 11th. Moto 2 start saw Shawn and Phil inside the top 10 and pushing for the front of the pack. Shawn fought hard and finished in 6th position, once again salvaging important points. Phil rode strong which led him into 2nd position later in the Moto. Due to the shortened Moto Phil would unfortunately run out of time trying to catch the leader Matt Georke.

Phil’s intense passion for the sport, combined with the responsibility for his own safety led to the disqualification of Nicoletti from Round 5 at San Del Lee. Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Manager Steve Simms will be Appealing multiple issues that have occurred.The Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha team looks forward to putting in another set of impressive results in Moncton, NB for round 6 of the Canadian Rockstar Energy MX Tour.

“Productive weekends and fire in the heart are winning combinations at OTSFF. Proud of my crew and the great program we have”

Andre Laurin (Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Team Owner)

Phil Nicoletti: 37-2 for 9th overall. TBD

Shawn Maffenbeier: 3-6 for 4th overall.

Sam Gaynor: 12-11 for 12th overall.

Round 5 San Del Lee Results 450 Pro Triple Crown 450 Pro Championship

Points Standings

1. Matt Georke 1. Colton Facciotti – 238

2. Colton Facciotti 2. Mike Alessi – 220

3. Mike Alessi 3. Phil Nicoletti – TBD

4. Shawn Maffenbeier 4. Cole Thompson – 200

5. Cole Thompson 5. Shawn Maffenbeier – 191

6. Josh Cartwright 6. Cade Classon – 161

7. Cade Classon 7. Matt Georke – 159

8. Keylan Meston 8. Ryan Dowd – 144

9. Phil Nicoletti – TBD 9. Keylan Meston – 132

10. Ryan Dowd 10. Dakota Alix – 104

12. Sam Gaynor 11. Sam Gaynor – 102