Don't Miss

Supercross Notes- Minneapolis SX

450SX Class Recap 

Going Green: Jason Anderson clinched his first multi-win season since his title run of 2018 when  he took the checkers at Anaheim 3. It was his ninth career 450SX Class victory in his 108th start.  His 37th podium moves him into a tie for 20th all-time with Damon Bradshaw and David  Vuillemin in that category. 

Going Blue: Eli Tomac cruised into second place to retain the red-plate as the series moves  east. His podium was his 77th and his top five was his 99th. He looks to earn his 100th top five  finish in Minneapolis, something only five other riders have done (Chad Reed, Jeremy McGrath,  Mike LaRocco, Kevin Windham, & Ryan Dungey. Note: Ricky Carmichael finished with 97.) 

On the GasGas: Justin Barcia was happy to nab his third podium of the season and first since he  started the season with back-to-back podiums. He now has 23 450SX Class podiums, which is  good for 32nd all-time and two behind Larry Ward in 31st. With 11 races to go Barcia is only two  podiums from tying his personal season record of five podiums (2013 rookie season). 

A Decade for 722: Adam Enticknap made his first Main Event of 2022 for his 31st career 450SX  Class start and also clinched his 10th season with a 450SX Class start. He becomes the 50th rider  in history to do this and has the least amount of total starts in the group by 15 (Keith S.  Johnson: 46 starts across 12 seasons). Justin Brayton and Kyle Chisholm each have 14 seasons  with a start, which is the most among active riders and good for seventh all-time. 

450SX Class: Minneapolis Facts 

History Lesson: The first 450SX Class race in Minneapolis was on April 16, 1994 in the now  demolished H.H.H. Metrodome and Jeremy McGrath won on a Honda. Jeremy McGrath won in  the Metrodome from 1994-1999 and is the only rider in Supercross history to win a venue’s first  six events. During that streak McGrath became the first rider in Supercross history to win on  three different brands at the same venue (Honda, Suzuki, and Yamaha).

16th to Fall: The H.H.H. Metrodome was demolished in 2014 and is the 16th Supercross venue to  be desecrated: Georgia Dome, Atlanta-Fulton Co. Stadium, Cleveland Stadium, Mile High  Stadium, Pontiac Silverdome, Texas Stadium, Meadowlands, Foxboro Stadium, RCA Dome,  Orange Bowl, JFK Stadium, Three Rivers Stadium, Jack Murphy Qualcomm Stadium, Seattle Kingdome, and Tampa Stadium are the others. U.S. Bank Stadium was built on site and took  over hosting duties in 2017.  

Minneapolis 17: H.H.H. Metrodome hosted 13 450SX Class races from 1994-2004, 2008, &  2013. U.S. Bank Stadium hosted from 2017-2019 before the pandemic knocked them out of the  previous two seasons. The 2022 return to Minneapolis will be the series’ 17th stop in the city  and fourth at U.S. Bank Stadium. 

What a Difference Three Years Makes: In the 2019 Minneapolis Supercross Cooper Webb, Ken  Roczen, and Marvin Musquin were on the podium. Eli Tomac (First in 2022 points) finished  sixth, Jason Anderson (second in 2022 points) was injured and did not race, and Chase Sexton  (third in 2022 points) finished fifth in the 250SX Class. Webb’s win in 2019, along with his title  that season, gives Minneapolis a 9/16 (56%) mark on winners in Minny winning the  Championship.  

Manufacturer Wins in Minneapolis (Last Win) 

Honda: 6 (‘04) 

Yamaha: 4 (‘08) 

Kawasaki: 3 (‘18) 

KTM: 2 (‘19) 

Suzuki: 1 (‘97) 

Top Winners in Minneapolis 

1) Jeremy McGrath: 6 (‘94-‘99) 

  1. Ricky Carmichael: 3 (‘01-‘03) 
  2. Eli Tomac: 2 (’17-‘18) 

450SX Class: First Time Winners in Minneapolis 

Josh Hill: 2008 

250SX Class Recap 

A(1-3) Sweep: Christian Craig dominated the field in Anaheim 3 for the fourth three-race  Anaheim sweep in 250SX Class history and first since Ryan Villopoto in 2007. All three previous  Anaheim three-race sweepers went onto win the title (Ernesto Fonseca 2001, Ivan Tedesco  2004, & Villopoto in 2007). Craig now has seven career wins in the 250SX Class and will hold the  red-plate going into the east coast break. 

First Second for Friese: Vince Friese secured his second career podium (either class) and highest  result of his career with a runner-up finish in Anaheim 3. After taking a tire to the helmet in  Anaheim 2 and being put on probation after Glendale’s triple-crown this is a welcome turn of  events as Friese prepares to jump into the 450SX Class in Minneapolis. 

DNQ A1 to Top-5 A3: Carson Brown was making his 16th start across three seasons and had  previously finished inside the top-10 five times without a top five finish. He finally earned one at Anaheim 3 with a fifth-place finish. The 910 has battled injuries and didn’t even qualify for  Anaheim 1 but his results have been better each week as the break approached. 

Fierro and Sanford Finally Get In: After a combined nine tries to make the Main Event since the  season began, Tre Fierro and Maxwell Sanford rode themselves into their first Main Events of  the season. Fierro was making his first career main and Sanford (16th) was making his fifth after  making four last season. After not making the night show in Glendale, Fierro nabbed an  incredible 14th place finish. 

250SX Class: Minneapolis Facts 

History Lesson: The first 250SX Class race in Minneapolis was on April 16, 1994 and Damon  Huffman won on a Suzuki in route to his first of two 250SX Class titles. 

H.H.H./U.S. Bank: From 1994-2004, 2008, and 2013 the 250SX Class race was held in the H.H.H.  Metrodome. Once the Metrodome was demolished, U.S. Bank Stadium hosted 250SX Class  races from 2017-2019. Just like the 450SX Class, this will be the 17th 250SX Class race in  Minneapolis and fourth in U.S. Bank Stadium. 

Forkner/Smith Return: Unlike the parity from 2019 to 2022 in the 450SX Class, 2022  Minneapolis could look a lot like 2019 in the 250SX Class. Austin Forkner and Jordon Smith are  both top returning riders in the 250SX Eastern Regional and finished 1-2 in Minneapolis 2019. Even Minny’s 2018 winner Jeremy Martin will be on the gate. 

H.H.H./U.S. Bank Championship Percentages: The two venues offer wildly different results  when it comes to the winners in the city going onto win the title. The winners in H.H.H. went  onto win a 250SX Class title that same season in 10/13 (77%) seasons, whereas none of the  three winners in U.S. Bank Stadium have won a title (0/3). 

Manufacturer Wins in Minneapolis (Last Win) 

Suzuki: 5 (‘03) 

Kawasaki: 4 (‘19) 

Yamaha: 3 (‘02) 

Honda: 3 (‘18) 

KTM: 1 (‘13) 

Top Winners in Minneapolis 

1) Damon Huffman: 2 (’94-’95) 

1) Kevin Windham: 2 (’96-’97) 

3) Austin Forkner: 1 (’19) 

  1. 11 others tied with 1

250SX Class: First Time Winners in Minneapolis 

Kevin Windham: 1996

450SX Class Past Winners in Minneapolis

1994: Jeremy McGrath, Honda 

1995: Jeremy McGrath, Honda 

1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda 

1997: Jeremy McGrath, Suzuki 

1998: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha

1999: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha

2000: David Vuillemin, Yamaha 

2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda 

2003: Ricky Carmichael, Honda 

2004: Kevin Windham, Honda 

2008: Josh HIll, Yamaha 

2013: Ryan Dungey, KTM 

2017: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki 

2018: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki 

2019: Cooper Webb, KTM

250SX Class Past Winners in Minneapolis

1994: Damon Huffman, Suzuki 

1995: Damon Huffman, Suzuki 

1996: Kevin Windham, Yamaha 

1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha 

1998: Stephane Roncada, Honda

1999: David Pingree, Suzuki 

2000: Shae Bentley, Kawasaki 

2001: Travis Pastrana, Suzuki 

2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha 

2003: Branden Jesseman, Suzuki

2004: James Stewart, Kawasaki 

2008: Trey Canard, Honda 

2013: Marvin Musquin, KTM 

2017: Joey Savatgy, Kawasaki 

2018: Jeremy Martin, Honda 

2019: Austin Forkner, Kawasaki


Check Also

All You Need To Know For Round 1 Of The 2023 Triple Crown Series In Edmonton