Yamaha Motor Canada Presents Behind the Lens From RJ’s

The 2017 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals are now a part of Canadian moto history. From the opening round in Kamloops to the final round on Sunday in Barrie, ON, the riders gave it everything they had to ensure their success. At Round 10 at RJ’s, both the MX2 and the MX1 Championships were still up for grabs as points leaders Shawn Maffenbeier and Matt Goerke had yet to clinch. After two very difficult motos in both classes, this exciting series concluded with Yamaha riders Maffenbeier and Goerke taking their respective championships. Yes, 2017 has been quite a year on the national circuit, with great battles at each and every round, fans were treated to some of the best racing this country has ever seen. To look back at what went on at the final round, here is a collection of James Lissimore photos for the final “Yamaha Motor Canada Behind the Lens” from this past summer. 

The track at RJ’s sits in wait for the riders at Round 10.

Ryan Surratt came into the final round 11 points behind Shawn Maffenbeier. Unfortunately for him, a crash in Moto 2 derailed any chance he had of catching Maffenbeier.

It was great to finally see Dylan Wright scrub his way to the second MX2 moto win at Round 10.

The trophy that everyone wanted, but only Matt Goerke got to take it home.

Many felt that Christophe Pourcel was the fastest MX1 rider throughout the 2017 series, but a few bad motos in the east coast him the title.

A large crowd was on hand at RJ’s to watch the final round of the 2017 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals.

Jess Pettis spent the entire first MX2 practice going flat off the RJ’s step-up.

Fresh off his podium finish at Round 9, Jason Benny grabbed the holeshot in both MX2 motos at RJ’s.

The top three overall riders in the 2017 MX2 series.

It was great to see part time racer Jeremy Medaglia grab the first MX1 moto holeshot. Jeremy would go on to finish up the moto in fourth.

MX101 FXR Racing Yamaha Team Manager Kevin Tyler celebrates their first ever MX2 Championship.

Jacob Hayes had a great day at Round 10 as he finished up in third overall.

Matt Goerke charged hard all season long, and when all was said and done, he took home the 2017 MX1 Championship by just 3 points.

Congratulations to Matt Goerke and the entire Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Team.

The podium at Round 10 was a beautiful place.

Colton Facciotti was very fast at the final round winning the opening moto and finishing up in second overall.

Racing in his first ever pro race, Marco Cannella showed everyone that he’s ready for the big time by finishing up in fifth overall.

Fresh off his Loretta Lynn’s titles two weeks ago, Mike Brown showed up at Round 10 and finished inside the top ten in the MX1 class.

This is how close the racing was all year in the MX1 class.

Tim Tremblay had a great summer and ended up finishing up in 8th overall in the MX1 class.

Your top three overall in the 2017 MX1 series.